My First Time Being in a Pride Parade

Unless you live under a rock, you know that June is the month of Pride. After the Stonewall riots in June of 1969, the summer month forever became a yearly celebration for the LGBTQ+ community. Every year the community and allies from all over the world come together for a parade in celebration of love for all and to commemorate past generations who have trailed the way for us today. As of now, I’ve witnessed three Pride parades. This year, I witnessed the parade from a different point of view. Thanks to my aunt, I was in the parade.

I was hesitant at first. I thought, as a 19 year-old bisexual man, I belonged on the outside of the parade watching from afar within the crowd of people. Not that there’s anything wrong with watching the parade with the crowd, I love it! There’s a special vibe that comes with being surrounded by so much happiness and so many people that can relate to your story and your struggles. There’s something special about being at a Pride parade, and it is truly without a doubt in unexplainable.

My first year being at a Pride parade was in 2016, just weeks after the shooting that took place at the Pulse nightclub in Orlando, a hate crime specifically targeted towards the LGBTQ+ community. The horrifying tragedy took 50 lives, including the perpetrator. I can tell you that without a doubt, watching the people marching in the parade holding up the names of the victims was absolutely chilling and heartbreaking. The crowd was still and silent. My family was worried for me, going to the Pride parade weeks after that specific shooting. But I had to go. Both in solidarity and pleasure. It was a beautiful way to pay my respects to those who fell, but it was also a time of love and joy. I felt at home. Not to mention, this all took place six months after I came out of the closet.

Nate's photo album 772.JPG

My second Pride parade took place the following year, 2017, when I tagged along with my childhood best friend Noah Couture. We always talked about going to Pride together, and it finally happened. I can say without a doubt it was one of the best experiences of my life. Without giving a whole book-series worthy of an explanation behind my history and friendship with this kind and beautiful soul, Noah and I have known each other pretty much our entire lives and have done just about everything together. We have an eternal pact. We’re a forever team. We are ohana. Going to Pride was everything I imagined it to be and more. It’s an experience both of us had the pleasure taking part in, together.

IMG_5229.JPG

About two months ago, at a Mother’s Day brunch, I was subtly approached by my aunt when she slid her phone towards me from across the table. What I found myself reading was an email from her work, offering a spot in the Toronto Pride parade. If you’ve been to a Pride parade you know that there’s a variety of companies and workplaces that have their very own place in the parade, such as social networks, local banks, store brands, etc. My Aunt Michelle works for R.B.C (Royal Bank of Canada) and every year they have their own spot in the parade. The email was offering my aunt and a few family members or friends to join in this year’s parade. How could I say no? Thus far I didn’t have any plans for what I was doing for Pride so of course I said yes and called up my brother Shadow and my sister Brodie, and before I knew it, we were in a Pride parade.

1561930086976.JPEG

Watching a Pride parade is something I think everybody should experience in their lifetime. That’s a given. But being in the Pride parade? That’s a whole other ballgame. I can’t even begin to explain how happy I felt when I was in the an actual Pride parade, a week ago today. It’s a genuine joy to see the smile on people’s faces when they see you marching down the street waving a Pride flag and they feel accepted and loved, as everyone should. I looked around and spotted all the same-sex couples kissing each other with pride (see what I did there?) and in those moments I felt like the happiest person on the planet. Happiness really is contagious.

1561930087139.JPEG

What it meant for me to be in this year’s Pride parade was achieving a monumental moment in my life. Never in a million years did I think I would actually be in a Pride parade. I always thought I’d be in the crowd. Like I said before, not that there’s anything wrong with that, being in a happy crowd is absolutely amazing. I guess I just never thought I was worthy enough to be in the Pride parade. For me this felt like a really nice pat on the back, a small recognition for all the crap I’ve gone through in regards to my sexuality. I came out almost four years ago and I wouldn’t take anything back. Coming out has truly been the best decision I’ve ever made. I feel grateful I get to wake up every day and be my true authentic self, surrounded by the love I’m so thankfully given by my family and friends. And being my true authentic self in a parade where love is celebrated for everyone, that’s something I could never put a price on.

I wanna thank my Aunt Michelle for not only being so insanely supportive through my coming out journey, but giving me the chance to do something I never thought I’d be able to do. Being in Pride has definitely changed my life for the absolute better and you bet your butt I’ll be in it again next year. Until then, happy Pride everyone.

1561930086788.JPEG

1 thought on “My First Time Being in a Pride Parade

  1. Nate, I am so proud of you and I am so glad it meant so much to you as it did to me too. Thank you for coming with me and it was a pleasure to be with you and your brother and sister after more than 18 years since I last seen them. Until next year 🌈☺️❤️ 🌈

    Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close